On Thursday 2nd November, the BTSYM AGM was held at the ICE at which the new committe for the 2018 session was presented to the members.Immediate Past-Chair Emma Hale handed over the reins to Nick McCrossan (Mott MacDonald) as Chair for the new session.

Supporting Nick over the next year are:
Secretary: Graham Cooper (Atkins)
Professional Development Sub-Chair: Sam Huckle (Balfour Beatty)
Schools and Universities Sub-Chair: Rashik Bhanderi (London Bridge Associates)
Media Sub-Chair: Chara Kalogeraki (Dr Sauer and Partners)
Midlands Co-ordinator: Harry Brunton (AECOM)

Nick outlined his goals for the coming year which will be in addition to maintaining the high standards of events and initiatives set by the 2017 committee. This includes improving engagement during what is a transitional period in the industry by making content more accessible for entry-level professionals and implementing a company champion system. In addition, the focus of the BTSYM needs to be decentralised from London and refocussed on the UK as a whole. Key to this goal is the introduction of the role of Midlands Coordinator which will cut across all sub-committees to ensure that colleagues in the Midlands Region are given the same support and opportunities for engagement. If successful, key colleagues in other UK regions will be identified to provide similar support. 2018 is a key year for engineering with the ICE celebrating its 200th Anniversary and also for the BTSYM celebrating it’s 10th anniversary. This year will be key in ensuring that the BTSYM continues to blaze the trail for other early career groups.